Some Attention Getters 1

Let’s learn some Attention Getters!!

Let’s All Do That Now

Sing this song to the tune of ”If you’re Happy and You Know it.”

If you’re ready and you know it,

Look at me!

If you’re ready and you know it,

Look at me!

If you’re ready and you know it,

Then your eyes will surely show it!

If you’re ready and you know it,

Look at me!

Let’s All Do That Now

Invite children to join you in this chant.

Can you say the ABC’s?

Yes, we all know how!

We can say ABC’s

Let’s all do that now!

A, B, C, D…

Change the words to practice other skills.

For Example:

Can you count from one to ten?

Can you hop onnyour left leg?

Can you march and clap your hands?

Shake Your Hands

Start this chant to get children’s attention.

Put your hands in the air,

An shake them everywhere!

Shake them high,

Shake them low,

Shake them fast,

Shake them slow.

Shake them, Shake them, all around!

Shake them up and shake them down *

* When you want childreb to sit quietly, change the last line to: ”Now hod them still and sit right down.”

Say I Do!

Invite everyone to say  this chant with you as you name each child in turn. Wait for the child to respond before moving on.

 I have a story*

Iwant to share with you.

If you want listen,*

[Michael], say ”I do!”

*replace ”story”’ and ”listen” with ”game” and ”play” or ”snack” and ”eat” when appropriate.

Look At Me

Sing this son to the tune of ”The Wheels on the Bus.”

My friends in the room,

Please look at me,

look at me, look at me.

My friends in the room,

Please look at me,

Listen to  my voice.*

*Once you have everyone’s attention, replace the  last line with an activity children can do to show that they hear you, such as ”Raise your hand.”

Hands in Lap

Cue children one at a time with this chant. Model the motions you want children to copy.

[Andrea],

Hand in lap, (Put one hand in your lsp and then the other.)

Feet tucked in. (Tuck in one foot at a time.)

Circle time* can now begin!

* Replace ”circle time” with ”storytime” or other activities as needed

If You Can Hear Me

Say this chant to get children’s attention. Use the second verse if you need to help children sit at circle.

If you can hear me, touch your head.

If you can hear me, touch your toes.

If you can hear me, touch your knees.

If you can hear me, touch your nose.

If you can hear me, fold your legs.

Hands in lap, feet crisscross.

If you can hear me, fold your legs.

Crissscross applesauce!

Responder

